Work-Dance Balance in the Final Lap!

So the last few days were very tiring & stressful, but rewarding. Between teaching, managing, event planning, organizing, I was a multitasking machine. On Wednesday I taught 7 lessons in Dance With Me NJ, which has a special place in my heart. This is where I started. I managed that studio for almost 7 years before I passed it off to the “kids”. I love being there. My blood, sweat, and tears lie within those walls. Thursday was my big SoHo day. The energy in this studio is incredible. It is the smallest of our studios, but is always one of the busiest. The teachers and students are constantly joking but know when it’s time to get down to business. I had 8 lessons and then was at the studio until 3:00am organizing all the entries. We implemented a new system that was supposed to make this process easier, but it actually made it three times harder for me. It was exhausting but I was proud when it was all set and done.

Friday was a gruesome day. I woke up, checked the scale: 185 pounds. Looking good. Then, left my house at 9:30am and headed out to Long Island. If I have to sum up our Long Island studio in one word it would definitely be “royal”. The studio has incredible decor and is absolutely stunning. When you walk in you are greeted by two “ginormous” mirrors. Everything is  antique-looking. DWM LI is our second studio and I recruited my best friend Ralph to manage it. It also has a special space in my heart.

As soon as I got to Long Island, I got a haircut, beardcut, and an eyebrow waxing. No time for a bikini wax. I taught two lessons and then tried to beat the traffic to DWM NJ. I wasn’t successful in doing that as it took me about TWO hours to get there. Once in NJ I had to make some changes to Sunday’s event. Then, I taught 3 intense lessons and headed home. I couldn’t sleep for about 2 hours but I finally closed my eyes at 1:00am. In the morning I woke up at 7:00am and headed to Glamour and Glow to figure out what in the world I’m going wear. I bet a lot of you have this struggle every day. Let me just tell you that everyone is in for a big surprise.  It’s now 9:30am and I have a sixth lesson day at Dance With Me NJ. Then we have to set up the room for tomorrow’s event and then… You guessed it! I’m going to get SPRAY TANNED!
I want to send out a huge thank you to all the teachers and managers who are participating in tomorrows event. Of course I can’t forget the students who have been working their little butts off for the big day #MakeEugeneLean End Of Summer Dance Festival August 19th, 2012. I’m so excited, I can’t wait…

Love you all,
Eugene

 

Decision decisions…

Leave a comment